Spring is in the air…Do you have your motorcycle covered with insurance?
Spring is almost here in California. It’s the best time to dust off the ol’ motorcycle and give it a tune up. Before you ride off into the sunset, you should also refresh yourself on California’s motorcycle laws. You may already know them like the back of your hand, but in case you aren’t 100% clear on them here is a quick recap.
Checklist of California’s Motorcycle Laws
- Your motorcycle’s handlebars must not be any more than six inches above your shoulder height when you are seated with your hands on the grips.
- You are required to have a muffler.
- You are not required to wear eye protection, but it is highly recommended.
- You must have at least one rearview mirror on the left or right side.
- There is a Lemon Law in CA for motorcycles, so if your motorcycle does not end up meeting all the state requirements, you can return it for a refund.
- You do need to have turn signals.
- If you plan on having a passenger, you need to have a seat and footrests ready for them. There is no age restriction for passengers.
- You may split lanes (pass a vehicle within the same lane) but it is not a recommended practice. It can be very dangerous for both you and the other vehicle.
- Your bike will have to pass periodic random safety inspections.
- You may be eligible for a state funded rider education course. If you are under 21 years of age, you are required to take a rider education course.
- You are required to wear a helmet at all times.
- You must have liability insurance for your motorcycle. The minimum is $15,000 bodily injury per person/ $30,000 bodily injury per accident/ $5,000 personal property liability.
Give us a call with any of your motorcycle insurance needs.